LOVE LETTER TO MY FRIEND – WELCOME TO THE 50s

I follow a web-site called Magic in the Backyard (http://magicinthebackyard.wordpress.com/) which I love.  She has a lot of writing ideas and suggestions; it is like Learn to Write 101 and Writing Encouragement 102.  Every Friday is “Free Write Friday” where she gives a topic and guidelines for the “assignment”.  I have participated in a few of them and always enjoy the challenge.  Participants post on their own blogs and share the link on her page.  It is a wonderful process and a great learning experience too.  I enjoy watching as we all read the same assignment and everyone comes up with different ideas. 

When Kellie introduced this week’s topic, Love Letters, I went UGH.  But, something made me read anyway and it turned out that my initial impression was very wrong. I am so glad that I continued to read.  Love Letters is an amazing project by Hannah Katy and her web-site is http://www.moreloveletters.com/.  It is well worth a visit, especially if you like to write.  This is something anyone can do, age doesn’t matter.  Whether you are 10 or 90; we all have experience, strength and hope to share with others. 

So, here is my love letter assignment and you may see more of these as time goes by!

 9/3/2011

Dearest Friend,

This year you celebrate turning 50 and I pray that it will bring you peace. 

At 20, I knew everything.  There was no problem I couldn’t’ force to a satisfying solution.  I was never satisfied but I lived with the results and was sure I had done well. 

At 30, I had already known great disappointment and sorrow.  My life seemed to spring forward and take me places I’d never expected.  All those plans I had never seemed to materialize.  I was still smarter than most people and learned how to please others instead of myself.  I thought what others thought of me was more important than what I thought of me.  I was completely lost and no longer knew who I was or what I even wanted anymore.

At 40, I learned that I was completely stupid.  I knew nothing at all.  This was the best thing that happened to me.  Accepting that I knew nothing made me willing to learn, listen and grow.  I allowed people who had “gone before me” to share their experience, strength and hope.  And I listened to what they had to say, really listened.  I was like a sponge soaking it all into my soul.  I learned about a God that loved me, a savior that saved me and my right to worship as I pleased.  And to allow others to worship as they believe.  We don’t have to agree anymore, we can choose to be different and still love each other.

Now, mid-way through my 50s I am happy.  The 50’s have been the most free I have ever felt.  I am on yet another path of discovery, fine tuning what I have learned.  I can be loving and selfish at the same time.  I can say no when I don’t want things and yes when I do without wondering what others will think!  I can wear clothes I like and not worry about fashion.  Comfortable shoes, amazing!  I can dress to the 9’s and I can look like a slob, it is my choice!  I wear my hair the way I like and I know that none of those things matter anymore.  Things are not what life is about.

I tell people, like you, that I love them.  I show a stranger a kindness.  I love hugs!  If an act of kindness pops into my head, I follow through, just for the fun of it.  I have learned to do the “’right thing” for the right reasons.

I am no longer afraid.  I take risks.  I have fun.  I know what fun is!  I dare to be different and go against the grain, in the kindest way possible.

I used to think being nice was being a doormat.  Today, if I leave this world and people say I was nice it is the highest compliment I could receive.  I am grateful for that. 

I have been blessed beyond belief and love being 55!  Welcome to the 50s, I hope you love it as much as I do.

Love,

marilyn

11 thoughts on “LOVE LETTER TO MY FRIEND – WELCOME TO THE 50s

  1. wow how beautiful and such a special gitft- a gift of love though your words of wisdom- I will carry your thoughts with me as I grow into my 50’s – if I can evolve to half the peson you are I will be very special indeed ~ I love you my dear friend. . .

  2. Love, love, love this, Marilyn. Your honesty, insightfulness, and wit shines through. I normally participate but this week skipped Magic in the Garden. Now I know it was my mistake. Thanks for a great write and for being my friend all these years! hugs, pat

    • thank you Pat! I loved writing this one. I gave the original hand-written letter to my friend Karen that turned 50 on the 1st. I love this project too, I am sure I will do this more. I am learning so much about myself by writing, I am amazed at this gift God has given me! Thank YOU for being my friend and for all your encouragement. It is mu ch appreciated! xxoo marilyn

  3. I absolutely love your blog and find almost all of your
    post’s to be just what I’m looking for. Would you offer guest writers to
    write content in your case? I wouldn’t mind composing a post or elaborating on some of the subjects you write with regards to here. Again, awesome web log!

    • thank you Tomas for your kind words I don’t know how I feel about that but I would be willing to see what you havae to say. As long as the content is acceptable I would welcome you as a guest blogger.

Leave a Reply

