WHAT INSPIRES ME?

Often when I am asked a question of this type it helps me to go to a dictionary and look up the word.  I know what it means but I need a clear definition to let my thoughts flow.  One definition I found was ” Stimulation of the mind or emotions to a high level of feeling or activity”.  I take that to mean what gets my rear end moving!

I like to be around people who think outside the box.  I like to move outside my comfort zone.  Notice that I did not say anything about being afraid.  I am normally afraid to move out of my comfort zone, I have just learned to do it anyway.  My best experiences have come from doing what I didn’t want to do when I didn’t want to do it.

Starting to write my blog was IN my comfort zone but sharing it with others, THAT was way outside the zone!  Somewhere deep inside I heard the voice that said to do it anyway.  As long as I am true to who I am it doesn’t matter if people think I am weird.

I am 55 years old, last year I took ice skating lessons.  Ok, I only took two lessons but that was quite enough.  I did it.  I do not feel the need to do it again.  I have a lot of experiences like that.  I told the world in another blog how fat I was.  I AM weird!  Who cares?!

People who are willing to take risks are amazing.   I told my husband the other day I’d rather break my leg doing something fun than by tripping over a piece of furniture.  At least it will be a better story!

3 thoughts on “WHAT INSPIRES ME?

  1. I have always loved this about you, Marilyn. True courage is acting in spite of our fears. I, too, love to figure out what I am afraid of and then do it until I am no longer afraid. I have walked away from a “good life,” twice and ignored all the doomsday warnings. I have never regretted either time I did this. My life is a constant source of amazement to me and stays filled with adventures of all kinds. Thanks for reminding us that we need to find what makes us wake up each morning eager to start our day…and then do it! Great message, as always, Marilyn. Keep them coming!

    • thanks so much Pat for your kind words. You inspire me, every time I think of you walking away from everything known to take on a new adventure I am amazed. I draw strength from that. You are right too, fear doesn’t make you strong, doing it anyway does. I am SO blessed!

Leave a Reply

