GUILTY PLEASURES

Guilty pleasures for me have changed so much in the past few months.  Before probably all of them would have been food related.  From Buffalo wings to Cheetos and all the chocolate you could find, they were not only my guilty pleasures but also my best friends.  Things are all different now, and hopefully forever.

I am learning to find new guilty pleasures.  Manicures and pedicures are certainly a wonderful gift to give myself.  This week I had my first massage and I know it will not be my last.  They will become a treat for my body and my soul.  I think pampering myself with services of this kind are pleasures I am not used to and it is about time I start enjoying them. 

I don’t see myself having a massage every month but I will work it in to my budget and reward system.  I had a facial done years ago and it would be nice to have one again.  I want these things to be special and doing it too often ruins the experience for me.

I love to sit in the hot tub and just relax.  It is the one spot that I get to be completely alone.  John rarely joins me.  Sometimes I talk John into lighting the outside fireplace and just relax and watch the fire.  It makes for a perfect evening.  It is definitely a guilty pleasure to be alone with my thoughts and just be still.

I define guilty pleasures today as time well spent.  I am learning to take care of myself and believe I am worth the treat.

3 thoughts on “GUILTY PLEASURES

  1. Thank you for so lovingly putting some of my guilty pleasures of when I was younger
    and worked as a RN … the guilty pleasures made my body feel it was rejuvenated and
    the stress would be gone from the tired muscles from both work and stress. I will tell you, they are worthy of just pleasure, guilty or not ! Just a foot massage could lighten the burdens of the times.

    Enjoy your pleasures…and thank you for the wonderful memory of times past.

    ☮ ♥ Siggi in Downeast Maine

  2. Good for you, Marilyn. It is indeed, important to do things that make us feel better. We are often much nicer to other people than we are to ourselves. Thanks for this reminder! Hugs, pat

Leave a Reply

