HAPPY EASTER

I have been reading a Lenten study about Jesus’ last week on earth.  At the end it asked the question “What can we learn from Jesus’ last week on earth?”  You knew that somewhere the question ”what  would we do with our last week” was coming; it was kind of a given.  I have a love/hate relationship with this type of question.  I like to ponder deep topics but I also believe that it is silly.  None of us know what we are going to do with any given situation until we are in it. 

For instance, when I had friends who talked about what they would do if they got divorced, I am here to tell you that you don’t do anything you think you might.  Mostly, you hurt.  And one day you put one foot in front of the other and move forward.  A different life begins and you hurt less.  All that TV drama that you see was certainly not what happened in MY life.  I survived.  And later, I thrived.

The “winning the lottery” fantasy is another thing to ponder.  What would I do with a MILLION DOLLARS?  For me, that dream changes from day to day.  What I would do depends on how selfish I am feeling at the moment of my pondering.  It also depends on who in my life is hurting.  I rarely dream of a big house or fancy cars, well maybe fancy cars, but never a big house.  The only consistent thing I have said for years is that I would get on a plane and fly to Garmisch-Partenkirchen in Germany.  I would look at the mountains and wait for God to tell me what is next.  Anyone who has ever been to Garmish can understand this desire.  It is the most beautiful place I have ever visited.

So, back to the original question, what would I do if I knew I only had a week left?  I don’t have a clue.  Really, I don’t.  I have not lived a perfect life but I also have freed myself from regret.  I do my best to make amends when I mess up and I do not harbor resentments that need forgiveness.  I have dealt with all that garbage long ago.  I love my family and I am pretty sure they all know it. 

I accept that I am probably not going to write a book that sells 50 copies, let alone a million, and am thrilled for those of you that have that ability.  My friend Pete is working on making that dream come true and I am thrilled for him.  He is a very talented writer.

I know so many people waiting for things to happen, for someday.  I am here to say that someday is here.  If you are waiting to know when the end is near stop waiting.  Call an old friend, forgive someone you need to forgive, let go of the junk, tell someone you love them….whatever is it, the time is now.  It is a cliché that today is all we have but sometimes clichés are right on target.  We will never have enough time, money or love.  I am learning to be satisfied with what I have and know that it is enough. 

Just in case you were wondering what Jesus did on his last days, Saturday He visited with friends (Martha, Mary & Lazarus), Sunday He rode a donkey in the Palm Sunday celebration, Monday He showed His temper and overturned the tables in the temple, Tuesday He taught about His Father, Wednesday He took a day of rest, then Thursday celebrated Passover with His disciples and actually washed their feet(!); and finally was arrested died and was buried Friday.  (Para-phrased from an article written by Bill Hybels, Senior Pastor of Willow Creek Community Church in South Barrington, Illinois). 

He was on a mission and knew He was going to die.  Everything He did seemed “normal” for the time in which He lived.  His story is still amazing to me, no matter how many times I read it. 

 HAPPY EASTER!

2 thoughts on “HAPPY EASTER

  1. Once again, Marilyn, you are right on target! We must not wait to live our lives….which are always only Now. Somehow you always manage to tell us the most important things in charming and fun ways. I love reading your articles. Have you considered putting them in a ebook. I am doing that currently and it is not hard to do at all. People could the download the collection and read either on their computers or an ebook reader. Just a thought. Lots of love and laughter coming your way. Hugs, pat

    • thank Pat, I haven’t thought of that but will have to look into it. Not sure if there would be much interest but … God will lead me if it is to be.
      xxoo

Leave a Reply

