MARCH 18, 1956

March 18, 1956 sometime after 5AM I came into this world.  Happy 55th Birthday to ME!  I was supposed to be Patrick Joseph because I was born in between St. Patrick’s Day and St. Joseph’s Day, March 17th & 19th respectively and quite obviously, I was supposed to be a boy.  I asked Mom why I wasn’t named Patricia and she said I didn’t look like a Patricia.  How I looked like a Marilyn Darlene at one day old I will never figure out.

 Marilyn was a really hard name to live with as a little girl.  No one could remember it, let alone spell it.  It is a great name for an adult though so I would like to give my parents credit for forward thinking.

 I have done ok with most of my birthdays, although I was not fond of turning 30.  That was the worst ever.  While I was at work on my 30th birthday, a very drunk man told me that I must have been a fox when I was young.  All my fears were true, I was old and ugly.  HaHa.  It didn’t take me long to get past all the self-centered junk that the 30th birthday brought and I never had problems with any of the birthdays that followed.

 I love my 50’s too by the way.  I feel freer than I have ever felt.  I know myself well and I don’t work so hard to please everyone I meet.  So why is 55 starting to bother me?  I don’t really FEEL old but 55 is solidly Senior Citizen time.  I now get discounts to movies, restaurants and department stores on Senior Citizen Day!  That is a good thing. 

 I do not feel like I have missed my “calling” or have any major regrets.  Most of my life I would live exactly the same way if I had to do it over again.  I don’t have any big dreams that I have a strong need to fulfill either.  Sure, I would like to go to Italy one day but my world will not stop if I never get there.  I don’t feel like I have missed the boat so to speak. 

I married for love both times and even though I say that next time is for money, anyone who knows me well knows that I am joking.  Love is all there is for me.  I even say that I would never marry again but my heart rules my head so even that is probably not true.  My youngest sister Patricia (who LOOKED like a Patricia!) says she can hand pick number three with no problem.  That is a long standing joke between us.

 Here are some of my Favorite Things, just in case you wanted to know:

 Movie: Mary Poppin’s – I don’t own a copy.  I still cry at the end every time I see it!

            Caddy Shack – it is still funny after all these years

   Songs: Dream A Little Dream of Me by Mama Cass, I have it as my ring tone

            In My Own Little Corner from Cinderella with Lesley Ann Warren

            Don’t Rain on My Parade from Funny Girl sung by the great Barbra Streisand

 Food:   Lamb Chops – yum, yum and yum

            Buffalo Wings – I never say no to them

            Ice Cream – Ben & Jerry’s Everything But the … rocks!

            Cheetos – it is kind of amazing that they are now #4 on the list, that is a miracle

            Peanut M&M’s

Color:  Green – like my eyes JOHN!

 Expression:  Don’t Shit Where You Eat (Sorry Patti!)

 I love writing my blog and truly enjoy the comments I receive, both positive and negative.  That people actually read what I write pleases and humbles me.  You have all been on this journey with me as I find my voice.  I have no idea where I am headed but supporting me along the way is priceless.  Sometimes when I get a big response it scares the daylights out of me but don’t let that stop you, I just wanted you to know.

 I am not sure how to define my life thus far but I’d like to think after 55 years that my heart shows promise of a person who has loved much and found happiness.  I hope that I have wisdom to share and that I share it freely.  I strive for perfection less and peace more.  I love to laugh.  And I am profoundly grateful for the love my family and friends show me every single day.

4 thoughts on “MARCH 18, 1956

  1. The little orphan girl(haha) has turned 55 !!! Age is just a number and life is what you make of it. Something nice comes with each birthday year. We just thank God for every healthy year he gives us.

    • oh how funny, I should have talked about being adopted! I forgot to mention that. How funny. I am so glad that you remembered. Daddy always reminded me about “poon hiney” on my birthday too! I love you Aunt Jean!
      A

  2. Marilyn, Happy Belated Birthday! I’m sorry I missed it. Don’t even have a good excuse other than crazy life! I pray with all my heart that our precious Almighty Father in Heaven will embrace you in a beautiful way never experienced before and that He will pour out His Holy Presence upon you filling you to the brim with the wonder of His love and peace, and fill your life to overflowing with His blessings. I love you and Happy, Happy Birthday!!
    xoxoxoxo

Leave a Reply

