MADE TO CRAVE

It is hard to believe it is February already; I think I took the month of January off to re-group, recover and rest from the holidays.  I must have because I did not do anything memorable except gain back eight of the 20 pounds I lost.  DEEP SIGH HERE.

I have however, been reading a book by Lysa Terkeurst called Made to Crave.  (available at Amazon.com) It is a wonderful book and I have learned much.  The initial premise of the book is that God made us to crave time with Him and we mess it up by craving food and/or other worldly things.  She writes in a way that is not preachy but fun and I related easily. 

One of the quotes that hit me was a bible quote from 1 Corinthians 10:23 “Everything is permissible but not everything is beneficial”.  HMMMM.  I always tell God to hit me in the head with a 2×4 because I never get those gentle nudges and this really did smack me in the head.  This quote is not necessarily about food but certainly can be applied to my eating history. 

French fries are permissible but not beneficial; so are M&M’s.  Watching TV or killing time on the computer instead of a walk certainly qualifies.  I see so many areas of my life that this quote can apply. 

I do not want to take all the fun out of life but I have had fun for years and now it is time to pay the piper.  I don’t seem to be able to do much in moderation.  I have no gray area, I am black or white, all or nothing, high or low.  It drives me crazy sometimes because I really know that people are able to do things in moderation.  I do not seem to be one of them.  I am on my diet or totally off, when I try that moderation stuff I eat a ½ pound bag of M&M’s instead of a pounder.  I either exercise to exhaustion or don’t bother at all.  There must be some sort a mental tick I possess that causes this.

I am back on the wagon.  Since I still plan to donate a pound of food for each pound lost, the Food Bank will be filled with my repeat pounds lost, at least someone will benefit.  This week I climbed on that stupid elliptical machine.  I am slowly building my time, again; it is amazing how fast I regress.  It is too dark to walk in the morning, and I know I will not be consistent after work.  I get side tracked way too easy so elliptical it is. 

I will be 55 in March and I am reasonably healthy.  I intend to continue this battle to lose weight armed with my new focus.  Everything is permissible but not everything is beneficial.  Some days I know that permissible will win out.  If beneficial wins more maybe I am finally applying the knowledge God gave me.  I hope so, or He is going to bonk me again and this one might be harder.

4 thoughts on “MADE TO CRAVE

  1. Good thoughts, Marilyn. I,too, am an all or nothing kind of gal; nothing in moderation for me. Sometimes it creates great adventures, other times, disasters. But I would not want to be luke-warm-grits-without-salt about anything. I want to live life to its fullest, dance in the garden on full moon nights, steal kisses from firefly fairies, and drink the morning dew. Thanks for sharing your life with us. Love you and think of you more often than you can imagine. hugs, pat

  2. hi marilyn, this post is honest and filled with your personality. it’s the absolute truth of where you were at the moment you wrote it and i think that’s beautiful! you’re making this writing thing look easy. 🙂

Leave a Reply

