WHY I HATE ROMANTIC COMEDIES

John and I went to the movie last weekend and saw a romantic comedy.  I am pretty lucky because John LOVES movies.  He watches all kinds.  If I ask to go see something it is very rare that he isn’t interested.  A lot of my girlfriends complain that their guy won’t go see “Chick Flicks” with them.  Normally they get a group together and do a girls night out and everyone is sort of happy.

It doesn’t matter which movie we saw, they are all pretty much the same.  Boy meets girl, girl rejects boy, things heat up, things cool off, it heats up again and they fool around a lot.  In the end the couple either get together, break up forever or someone dies.  I really hate romantic comedies and cannot for the life of me remember why I wanted to go in the first place.

John and I go through the roller coaster of emotions you get while watching these movies.  You laugh, you relate, you glare at your spouse because he/she doesn’t get it; or DOES get it.  In this particular movie, it had a sweet ending, a least no one died – yet.  The lights come up and I am in that warm emotional space, you know the one where you look over at your sweetie and just know he is going to say something really profound and loving?  And he says something stupid instead.  The moment is broken forever.  He is a jerk; the movie stunk and we go home and watch basketball.  Life goes on.

I do have a few Chick Flicks that are favorites, like “The Bridges of Madison County”.  I read the book first and about the half way point started heaving and sobbing.   Tom, my spouse at the time, asked if I was enjoying my book.  I said yes as tears streamed down my face.  I didn’t like the movie as much as the book but cried just the same.  People argue with me about the outcome all the time saying she should have left.  I am positive staying was the right decision.  All that they had was a moment in time.  Real life would have destroyed it anyway.  I am not sure Bridges would qualify as a romantic comedy but it is the same formula. “ Sleepless in Seattle”, “When Harry Met Sally”, “There’s Something About Mary” are all sweet funny movies.  They are absolutely not the kind of life I live or really even want to live.  Maybe I am too cynical.

To me, the real romantic comedy is the life I live every day.  Working together to make our life happy is comedy enough for me.  There isn’t much romance in day to day life and when we try to create it we laugh like crazy.  I light a candle and John blows it out so a fire doesn’t start.  He puts on some music and instead of a sweet cozy song, Great Balls of Fire plays.  If we snuggle watching TV, Rosie starts loudly snoring or worse, passes gas.  You can just forget about that romantic dinner, when I try to cook nothing good ever happens!

I have come to learn that comedy is what makes the romance for me.  All that other stuff is short lived.  Some of you might have that sweet gushy relationship full of romance and if you do I am genuinely happy for you!  I’m just saying that maybe more relationships would last if we stopped dreaming about what we don’t have and start enjoying the real life we have in front of us. 

Just a thought…

Leave a Reply

