THE SILLY SEASON

It is hard to believe that the silly season is upon us again. I am determined to take care of myself this season and enjoy time relaxing with my family.  In order to do that, I have to be aware of the pitfalls that sneak up on me.

I have worked so hard to lose weight, 20 pounds since July.  I know full well that it is possible to gain it all back in a month and a half so staying focused is a priority.  If January arrives and I have not gained I will be thrilled.  I must have realistic expectations and understand that I may not lose anything during the holidays. I have to allow that to be acceptable.  As my family plans our Thanksgiving celebration I am already feeling the pull of special holiday treats.  I don’t have to say no to everything but I do have to plan and limit them.  This weight loss journey is going to be around for another year, I have to get used to it and keep my eye on the prize.

I do not do well when I am hungry or overtired.  I can be overly emotional and I know this about myself.  Other people can be the same way.  Hungry Angry Lonely Tired (HALT) is a rule for me to follow.  If I am already overwhelmed, staying away from people, places and things that increase my anxiety is a very good idea.  I also must make time for myself.  Sometimes I get so involved in pleasing everyone else I forget to take care of myself.  That spells DOOM for me. 

Taking care of me involves eating healthy, exercising, getting enough sleep, remembering to do my daily meditation, laughing, being grateful and staying connected to positive influences.  When I lose track of this I feel like I am walking around with one shoe on and one shoe off.  Then I am headed for trouble. 

I tend to make snap decisions and others may not immediately share my enthusiasm or ideas. Many people in my life need to process their decision making.  I sometimes take that as not being supportive.  (see HALT above!)  There are very few plans that cannot be changed and very few issues that are going to be important in a week.  I don’t need to be over serious; I can relax and take each day as it comes.  I tend to plan every minute and then feel overwhelmed trying to accomplish everything. 

Now that I recognize all these behaviors do you think for one minute I will be able to stick to the plan?  Probably not completely, but at least I have a plan.  When I acknowledge my defects it helps me to let go.  I am not in control, never have been. I think I should remember that one too!

Leave a Reply

