THE SONG THE ANGELS SANG

The other night I was reading one of my meditations and the question asked was “What is the song the angels sang the day that you were born?”   I loved that thought very much, but have to admit, I could not think of a single song they might have sung.  I decided to Google 1956 and see what songs were popular, maybe that would give me an idea of what the angels were singing that day.  I’d like to think that my Guardian Angel is pretty hip and was happy with her new assignment. 

The most popular songs in March of 1956 were “Rock and Roll Waltz”, “The Poor People of Paris” and “Lisbon Antigua”. 

First I listened to the Rock and Roll Waltz which was recorded by Kay Starr.  It is about a teenage girl that comes home and catches her parents trying to waltz to her Rock and Roll record.  Some of the lyrics were “one two and then rock, one two and then roll, one two and then jump its good for your soul…”  I laughed because I can see mom and dad doing that.  My parents loved to dance and especially the waltz.  I love to waltz too, it is my favorite dance.

Next I found the music and lyrics for “The Poor People of Paris”.   This one starts “Just got back from Paris, France all they do is sing and dance.”  I am beginning to see a pattern here.  It is all about the poor French people who only drink wine and have fun.  Don’t I wish life was like that?  When I played the song I actually knew the tune.  I think it must have been a theme song to a TV show, I would sing it for you but I don’t think that would help much.

The third song was “Lisbon Antigua” and I found that one on You Tube.  Ray Conniff was playing, no singing.  When I found the lyrics it was about falling in love in Lisbon.  The melody was very pretty.  I don’t expect to go to Lisbon any time soon, but never say never.  Where is Lisbon?

So, what does that have to do with what the Angels would be singing on the day I was born?  I don’t have a clue.  I am just grateful that the biggest song of the week I was born was not Hot Diggity, Blueberry Hill or Singing the Blues, which were other songs of that year.  A couple other ones like, “A Tear Fell” or “A Rose and A Baby Ruth” might have been appropriate.  And thank God I wasn’t named Lula after “Be Bop A Lula”.  Since I was born in the Marilyn Monroe area, I asked mom if I was named after her and she says no.  They just thought I looked like a Marilyn.  We don’t have a lot of baby pictures of me but I sure don’t see it. 

Anyway, I don’t know what song the angels sang, I am sure some of you can come up with a few ideas for me.  Try to be kind though, I can be very sensitive!

Do you know what song the angels sang when YOU were born?

2 thoughts on “THE SONG THE ANGELS SANG

  1. I think when you were born the angels sang a beautiful song for a beautiful little girl and now a women to have life long wisdom that can only come from the most highest God. That she shares with those around her, who knows her. What a beautiful gift that can be given to a person. On the other hand was also given the gift of a spark of sassiness. I think it all equals out to a wonderful person.

    I’m not sure what the angels were singing, but the popular song on the 19th the day I was born was Bing Crosby and Carmen Cavallaro – I Can’t Begin to Tell You. So what ever the song the angels must have put a song in my heart and a smile on my face. How can I ask for more?

Leave a Reply

