ITS A MIRACLE!

Sunday a miracle happened.  We went out to lunch and I only ate half.  I ordered a hamburger and steak fries.  I have been cutting things like this in half, hoping the visualization would teach me to actually eat half.  For the first time, it worked.  I DID eat all the fries but no matter how you look at it, this is progress.  I would have eaten all the fries anyway.

I have been doing pretty well on this new program.  The web-site http://myfitnesspal.com has been a huge help.  It is free!  What it does is help me track what I am eating.  I do believe that this is a key part of any weight loss program.  I hate doing it but this site makes is as painless as possible.  It is the accountability part of my program and I am sure the reason I hate doing it is because I don’t want to be accountable.  It is so easy to lie to myself and determine that I only ate six wings, when I have NEVER eaten only six wings in my life.  I am sure that steak I just ate is six ounces.  I ordered a twelve ounce but it looks awfully small.  AND doesn’t it lose weight when it is cooked?  I really have to work at being honest with myself and record exactly what I eat immediately.  It is too easy for me to “forget” the blue cheese dressing or pat of butter.

The web-site keeps track of calories, carbohydrates, fat and protein.  My main focus has been on calories and fat.  At the end of the day, if I am under in those two columns I am thrilled.  I am constantly amazed at how out of control I really was.  Everything I choose is high in fat.  Everything.  I am conscious of this now and doing better with my choices, which made Sunday so great.  I had a high fat meal but I only ate half.  This is a huge step in the right direction.

I still eat all the foods I like but since I am learning which ones are lousy choices, I am having them less often.  I still have pizza, wings, burger and fries (not all at the same time).  I have one or two pieces of pizza and stop.  I have ten wings.  And now, half of a designer burger!  I work hard to stay away from fast food; there is no hope for me there yet. 

Something else I’ve noticed is that I always choose big dishes.  I’ve started using the smaller bowls when I eat cereal or fruit.  I do think that it looks like there is more there, rather than looking into a half empty bowl.  Restaurants use this practice all the time to make the meal look larger.  Why did it take me so long to catch on?  Because I filled the bowl, it didn’t look empty at all!

I am learning to enjoy fresh fruits.  I even ate a mango, not my favorite but I ate it anyway.  Who knew I would love kiwi?  I very much enjoy grilled green peppers and onions.  If that is what I have to do to eat a vegetable, so be it.  I am also starting to eat more chicken and fish.  Eating low fat fish is not easy but I am getting used to it.  I don’t think it will ever be a “go to” selection but I am not opposed to it either.

After dinner, if my calorie or fat count is higher than it should be, I exercise again.  I have to pay the piper.  If I am dog tired, the last thing I want to do is get on that stupid elliptical machine.  It is a choice I have to make with each meal.  I get extra in each category when I log my exercise which helps if I do over indulge, but my goal is to not need extra.

I have lost 9 pounds in 8 weeks which isn’t too shabby for someone who struggles to stay on track.  I decided to donate one pound of food for each pound I lose to a local food bank.  I put a laundry basket in the corner of the living room for the food.  When I lift the basket and can understand what nine pounds I lost feels like it is a huge motivator.  I don’t want that back on my body. 

I am trying everything and anything to keep myself motivated.   I don’t know what the difference is this time versus every other time I have tried to diet.  I only know that for today it is working and I am making progress.  I am grateful for that.

2 thoughts on “ITS A MIRACLE!

  1. You are such an inspiration to me! And, you are a fabulous writer! I look forward to your posts so much! Thanks for sharing 🙂

Leave a Reply

