DIETING NEWS …

I went to a seminar on how to lose fat a few weeks ago.  It was disappointing to say the least.  There was a room full of people hoping this was going to be the magic cure.  We are all so desperate to find the magic that we are sitting ducks for every con there is.  That is why the diet industry is a billion dollar business.  Of course there are some reputable companies but they require hard work.  Personally, I am exhausted from doing the hard work. 

I did not grow up with a weight problem.  In my twenties, I “thought” I had a weight problem but I didn’t.  While my ex and I lived in Germany, I started putting on pounds but I could lose them pretty fast when I set my mind to it.

In 1996, the year I turned 40, I quit smoking.  My doctor told me he didn’t care how much weight I gained, it was time to quit.  I have not had a cigarette since, but I gained 100 pounds.  I have lost and gained 20 pounds here and there for years but never have been able to get down to my “normal” weight.  I would settle for less fat at this point.

I believe when you give up one addiction you pick up another.  Smoking was my primary addiction and I have switched it to food.  I am a food addict.  I think BIG about everything.  My husband John asked me to make him brownies and he ate ONE.  Can you imagine?  I cannot do that, I have to at least eat the row.  You know, to keep the pan even.  But it doesn’t end there, I think big about everything.  One of the girls I used to work with, a tiny little thing, bought the smallest bottle of olive oil I have ever seen.  What on earth can you do with that?  I always buy the big bottle so I don’t have to keep going back.  I have really started taking notice of this.  Normal sized people buy normal sized stuff.  I buy extra large everything. 

I am not afraid of exercise.  I have said before that I love to walk and I walk two miles every morning.  I enjoy yoga and I am pretty much game for anything my body will tolerate.  I do get aggravated when I give it my all and nothing happens.  I get up early to walk and believe me, I’d much rather have that extra hour of sleep.  I have my very own elliptical machine, like that is a badge of honor or something.  John hints occasionally that I spent good money on something I rarely use.  I do intend to use it though.  Really, I do.

My neighbor told me about a FREE website, www.myfitnesspal.com so I decided to check it out.  I absolutely love it.  This is a back to basics, count your calories site.  Only they count your calories for you.  The site allows you to log your food and exercise doing most of the work for you.  It keeps track of your calories, carbs, fat and proteins.    You just have to honestly enter the data and it is very easy to use. 

After being on so many diets that you didn’t have to count anything, I have lost sight of the fact that all foods have calories.  One plan I was on said you could fill the bathtub full of vegetables and eat your way out of it.  Of course, my vegetables were covered with cheese sauce.  I hate vegetables.  Why is it that I will ingest any chemical imaginable to lose weight and I will not eat a vegetable? 

 While I do believe in total honesty, I also believe in none of your business so I am not going to tell you how much I weigh.  I lost 1.5 pounds on week one.   That may not sound like much but the scale moved in the down direction.  I am happy with that.  That old cliché that you didn’t put it on in a week holds true.  It is time for me to put on my Big Girl Panties and grow up.  Now I have to be accountable and deal with my weight honestly.  I will keep you posted on how it goes.

Leave a Reply

