A DAY OF REST?

Today is Monday and I sit at my desk half asleep with no pretense of perkiness anywhere.  How did it get to be Monday so fast? 

Sunday is supposed to be a day of rest.  I like to look up the meaning of words because sometimes I find surprises in their real definition versus the definition I have come to believe over the years.  I used Merriam-Webster Online Dictionary and found one of the definitions for rest is “freedom from activity or labor, a state of motionlessness or inactivity”.  This is interesting to me because I thought a day of rest is pretty much doing the things I like to do. 

I was listening to a man on the radio last week and he said that we didn’t know how to relax anymore.  After reading the definition above, I tend to agree with him.  Typically on Sundays I do the laundry, run all the errands I didn’t accomplish on Saturday, we practice pool, and usually go out to dinner so neither of us have to cook.  I am pretty much in motion from the time I get up until I sit down to watch TV near bedtime.  With the exception of going out to eat, none of this is stuff I like to do, nor is it relaxing.  And, none of it is even good for my soul.

Since I cannot seem to figure out what IS rest, maybe I need to focus on what isn’t.  Errands are not, anything that includes Walmart is not, or shopping at all for that matter.  I do not find practicing pool restful because it usually frustrates me.  I do enjoy working in the garden, however that is not motionless so I guess that doesn’t count either.  Keeping my nose stuck to the computer, playing games and wasting my day probably doesn’t qualify.  Of course we can eliminate laundry or any household chores, which to me, includes cooking.  It says freedom from activity and cooking is not freedom to me!

So, in order to have a day of rest, I am going to have to learn to be still.  When John watches golf he “rests” so maybe watching golf on Sunday is a good idea.  I am sure reading a book would be restful.  I have four books stacked up just waiting for me to dig in.

I have to admit, as I am getting older, spending a day resting would certainly help Monday mornings go a little better.  Instead of dragging myself in to the office half asleep, I might actually be the morning person I am.

And maybe, just maybe, I will start looking forward to the weekend as enjoyable instead of how much I can accomplish.

One thought on “A DAY OF REST?

Leave a Reply

