Sing-A-Long!

I love music and I cannot imagine my life without it.  I was the kid in the bedroom dancing around the beds, singing into my hair brush.  I never had any illusions that I was a great singer, my sister always made sure that I knew that my skills were primitive.  But I loved doing it and still do. 

I took piano lessons when I was in sixth or seventh grade.   I had to walk a couple miles (through the snow and rain of course!) to get to the lesson.  I don’t remember complaining too much about going and I don’t know how long I took lessons.  I quit when we were going to have a recital and I didn’t want to participate.  Mom might have a completely different version of these events.

In the early 70’s our church started a Folk Mass, which was popular at the time.  There were sisters that were really the stars of the show with their beautiful harmonies, but there were several others that were a part of it too.  They taught us to play the guitar and it was one of the best times of my life.

I love Classic Rock which is the music of my youth, it wasn’t Classic then, it was just Rock.  Country took over in the 80s and I and then Contemporary Christian in the 2000’s.  I like to mix it up so I don’t get bored.   I think I like songs rather than special music, it depends on my mood.  I can listen to it all.

John and I did the karaoke thing for awhile.  We had a local bar that was fun, we liked the people there.  Once you get the courage to get up and sing the first time, the rest is easy.  John and I sang John Denver’s “Country Roads” because it is a great sing-a-long and you don’t have to carry it yourself.  John always liked to sing “Man of Constant Sorrow” and I sang Martina McBride’s “When God Fearing Women Get the Blues” and Mama Cass’s “Dream A Little Dream of Me”.   The environment was relaxed and people helped each other get the courage to sing.  It was a lot of fun.  It also ran its course and we left it behind.  The place is closed now but we had a lot of fun there, nice memories. 

We are supposed to “make a joyful noise” and I try my best to do that.  I have a friend who says that God gave her this voice and she is giving it right back to Him.   I love that.  I say it often but cannot take credit for it!

When I am alone in the office I sing along with the music all day long.  It really does make the day go by faster.  If anyone came in without me knowing I’d probably be a bit mortified.    I love singing in the car too.  I crank up the songs I like and sing loud and proud.  The nut you see singing away in the car next to you, especially if it is a gray Honda, is probably me, just being in the moment, enjoying the music.  Let loose and give it a try sometime.  It is harmless!

One thought on “Sing-A-Long!

Leave a Reply

