LOVING OTHERS

“Love is patient, love is kind. It does not envy, it does not boast, it is not proud. It is not rude, it is not self-seeking, it is not easily angered, it keeps no record of wrongs. Love does not delight in evil but rejoices with the truth. It always protects, always trusts, always hopes, always perseveres.”

This is from 1 Corinthians, Chapter 13 verses 4-7 and one of my favorites.  It always makes me strive to do better with others.   I should read it 10 times a day to achieve any progress.  I will probably visit this passage often as I blog.

The “love is patient love is kind” part is what seems to be tripping me up lately. Why do I have the smallest amount of patience with the people I am supposed to love the most?  And, if I am being totally honest with myself, I am not too good in the rude department either.  Excuses used range from I’m having a bad day, it IS true or maybe I am just being too hard on MYSELF!  I can justify anything if I work hard enough. 

Why can I accept the same behavior from a stranger and be so hard on the people I love?  Why do I expect more from them and not hold myself up to the same standards?  And, what am I going to do about it?  I think acknowledging a behavior that is less than acceptable IN ME is the beginning of change.  If I want to live a life that is pleasing to God then I need to focus on my own behavior and not everyone else’s.

My sister reminds me again and again that I cannot hold others to the same standards that I believe.  And isn’t example the best teacher?  I don’t want to be one of those people that talks a mean talk but can’t walk the walk. 

We all have people in our lives that drive us crazy for one reason or another.  Sometimes our feelings are even justified but does it show patience and kindness to point it out to them?  How important is the issue?  If we are not self-seeking and keep no record of wrongs, then isn’t it right to let it go?  Isn’t self-seeking our own need to be right, at the expense of someone else?

For me, showing love sometimes is as simple as keeping my mouth shut and moving on.  It is not an easy thing to do.  It doesn’t mean that I don’t do a lot of grumbling to a trusted confidant.  I am far from perfect!  Hopefully I will reach a point of loving others that I won’t even notice that they bug me.  Wouldn’t that make my world a very peaceful place?

God isn’t finished with me yet, that is for sure!

One thought on “LOVING OTHERS

  1. Here’s what I think about something being self seeking… If you are telling somebody something that they do that is wrong or is hurting them in some way you are not being self seeking. If your motivation is not selfish, if it is not to benefit you, but is to benefit the person you are talking to then you are not being self seeking. And you can tell them in a kind way.

    Conversely, if you are letting a person continue in a behavior that is dangerous or detrimental and the only reason you are NOT telling them is because it will cause YOU discomfort to talk about it, then you are also being self seeking. I am guilty of this big time.

    We are called to correct our brothers and sisters in Christ in love. Those who are Christians should be held to exactly the same high standards that you are held to. You just can’t expect someone who is not a Christian to act like one. It’s nice if they do, not all non-Christians are bad people, you just can’t expect it.

    Now…after saying all of that. Maybe the most important part of all is GRACE. None of us is perfect, we are all on this journey together and we all screw up. So if someone just screws up, help pick them up. I screw up more than anyone I know. I hope I show everyone else the same grace I show myself. haha.

    Now… this is not my blog so I’ll shut up. I love this one, just like I love all the others!! And I love YOU! You and your blog are AMAZING!!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

