HAPPY NEW YEAR

Here are some of the definitions I found in Thesarus.com.  I thought the individual power of each word was interesting.

Serenity:  Calm, peacefulness, composure, and the ever feared patience

Accept:  receive something given physically, gain, welcome, to take or agree to

Change:  something made different, I thought break was an interesting synonym

Courage:  boldness, braveness, fearlessness, adventuresomeness

Wisdom:  insight, common sense

Serenity has always meant peace to me, I have never thought of it as patience.  People who know me well would say that patience is not a virtue that I possess often.  However, when I think about it, nothing in serenity says that I get my way.  So I guess patience is a good match to consider.

Accept usually means surrender to me.  Not one of the definitions listed were anything close to surrender.  They all were much more positive.  To receive, to gain, even welcome?  I wonder if I take it so negative because to me, accepting means I don’t get my way?

Change meaning “something made different” was “acceptable” to me.  LOL.  Break was a definition I hadn’t ever considered. 

Courage defining boldness and braveness first was understandable.  But I related more to the fearlessness definition more.  I have to get past the fears inside, real or imagined, in order to have courage.  I loved adventuresomeness, which I didn’t even know was a word, but there it was.  Let’s be adventuresome and accept a change we don’t want.

Wisdom is one of those words that you know what it means and yet you don’t.  I liked insight but loved common sense.  If you think about the wisest people you know, don’t they have the best common sense ever?  The bible tells us to pray for wisdom so that tells me that it is not something that we naturally possess. 

The Serenity Prayer is a prayer I have said for years.  I understood it in my own mind, the way I wanted to understand it.  To take key words and explore their meaning gave me a new prayer, personal to where I am today in my life.

God, Grant me the Serenity to Accept the things I cannot Change,

The Courage to Change the things I can

And the Wisdom to know the difference.

BECOMES

God Grant me Peace (I NEVER PRAY FOR PATIENCE!) to welcome something different than I want.

The fearlessness to make something different if I can,

And the common sense to know the difference.

This is my focus for 2010.  Accepting something different than I want is so much better than constantly fighting what I get.  It is better than a resolution, which, by the way, meant determination or strong will.  I guess you need a strong will to do some things, but I am just looking for peace.

HAPPY NEW YEAR!

2 thoughts on “HAPPY NEW YEAR

  1. I have read your entire Blog and I find it amazing how well you convey your true inner self. Anyone that has ever spent even the shortest amount of time with you knows how generous and caring you are. You would literally give the shirt off your back…No Tequila required, God Bless

Leave a Reply

